searching for the extra from the ordinary

A Trip around Prambanan Temple

Last weekend (9/24) I spent almost a whole day around the world-renowned Prambanan Temple. I was there for an official duty, reporting a photo marathon event held by Canon. Actually, I had had visited the temple several times before, but this time was different as I brought along a camera with me, so I could take pictures of the temple and the surrounding area.

Most of the photo marathon event was conducted around the Ramayana Ballet Stage, but I had some good time wandering around some of the huge temples (Siwa and Nandi). Still, as I was covering an event, I could not spend all my time there, so I could only take few pictures of the place. But, I have planned to visit the temple again and spend all day long there. Hopefully.

Prambanan is a compund of Hindu temples built in the 19th century, during the era of King Rakai Pikatan of Sanjaya dynasty, as a dedication to the Trimurti (Trinity: the God Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva). Listed as a world heritage by UNESCO, Prambanan is the largest Hindu temple in Indonesia and one of the largest and most beautiful Hindu temples in Southeast Asia. Local folklore/legend related Prambanan to the story of Rara Jonggrang and Bandung Bondowoso. It is told that Bandung Bondowoso proposed Rara Jonggrang to be his wife. Rara Jonggrang did not want to marry Bandung as he had murdered her father, so she answered by giving a hard task for Bandung to do—building a thousand temples in one single night.

Though seemed hard and even impossible, Bandung agreed. Using his mythical power, he started to build temples. When dawn was about to break, he had finished 999 temples. Panicked, Rara Jonggrang ordered her servants to make noises and burn hays at the East. Thinking that morning had come, the spirits and otherworld beings helping Bandung in building the temples ran away and abandoned the almost finished work. Knowing that he had been tricked by the beautiful princess, Bandung got very angry and cursed Rara Jonggrang to be a stone statue; she turned into the thousandth statue completing the whole temple.

Here, I presented some of the pictures I took around the temple. As many other visitors had taken numerous pictures of the wide view or whole figure of the temple, I tried to take more pictures of the details of the wonderful structure. I tried different angles and composition; and this is what took me so long around the temple.

Below are some pictures of the mannequin (gypsum statue, I guess)around the Trimurti open-air stage area. Most of them are in glass display, so I had to find the correct position to avoid the glass’ reflection.

The whole photo marathon event was closed by an amazing firework party. Here are some of the pictures from the party. Hope to visit Prambanan again, soon.

One response

  1. I’ve been studying architecture for over 10 years. It is safe to say that this building is the most aspiring one on the planet. Visit it once and you will agree with me!

    October 8, 2011 at 11:23 am

Leave a Reply

