searching for the extra from the ordinary

Refreshing the Mind at Gunung Api Purba

A view from the top--Photograph by me

If you like trekking but have not much time to explore faraway lands or treks, you can do what I used to do with my friends, exploring some reachable treks around the place we live in.

Most people prefer beaches as a refugee from their daily routines, which sometimes cause stress and boredom. As for myself, I prefer going to the hills or, if there’s plenty of time, the mountains.

One of the place I’ve recently visited was Gunung Api Purba (literally translated as The Ancient Mountain of Fire). It is a hill situated at Nglanggeran Village, Patuk, Gunung Kidul, Yogyakarta. It is about 25km from the city of Yogyakarta, taking us more or less 45 minutes by motorbikes/cars.

Spreading at 200-700m above sea level, the hill is an ancient mountain. About 60 million years ago, the area was an active volcano; however, now it has settled down. With a 23-27° C temperature, the hill offers cool breeze along with various nice views. It takes more or less an hour to climb to the top of the hill.

Many other visitors also sometimes do rock-climbing along some particular rock walls of the hill. As for myself, I found more fun in walking along the line of trees while enjoying the cozy wind or taking pictures of the various flowers I saw along the way.

I have visited the hill twice; first with my colleagues at the office, and next with some of my college friends. Still, I won’t miss another chance to visit it again.

Here are some of the pictures from the two trips. If you are living in Yogyakarta or the nearby areas and you think you need to refresh your mind a bit, make sure you arrange your own visit to Gunung Api.

Don't bump your shoulder to the rock-wall--Photograph by me

The farm below, seen from above the hill--Photograph by me

Part of the track--Photograph by me

Another view from the top--Photograph by me

Yup, that's me--Photograph by Cindy Nara

You can also hunt for nature/flower photography--Photograph by me

Leave a Reply

