searching for the extra from the ordinary

PoetiCrush #1: Vague Memories

*In endless memory of my beloved mom and dad.

Requiescat in Pace.

“everything carries me to you

in me nothing is extinguished or forgotten, 
my love feeds on your love, beloved, 
and as long as you live it will be in your arms 
without leaving mine.”

~Pablo Neruda – If You Forget Me

A rosary with the Virgin Mary piece gone missing. It used to belong to my late mom; when I was a kid, I broke the Virgin Mary piece. She replaced the piece with a wire and gave the rosary to me, which I keep to the present time.

A golden ring my late mom used to wear. After she’d gone, my dad gave the ring to me. I never wear it, though, for it drives me crying everytime I put it on my finger.

A silver-chopper mechanic watch my late mom used to put round her wrist every morning before she got to teach at school. My dad gave it to me after she’d gone; I wear it only during special occassions. The watch is much older than my own age, but it still runs well even until now.

An old photograph of my late dad. He passed away 8 years after my mom. This is the one and only photograph of him I could keep when I had to move out from my home.

My late dad’s favorite tie; the one and only of his stuffs I could keep after he’d gone and I had to move out from the home.

[poetiCrush is a series of photography projects inspired by particular poems, song lyrics, or other kind of artworks]

*Poeticrush #1: Vague Memories was inspired by Pablo Neruda’s poem “If You Forget Me“.

Leave a Reply

